Hartselle City Schools

Special Called Meeting 05/06/2025 06:00 PM Central Office 305 College Street, NE Hartselle, Alabama 35640

MEETING MINUTES

Attendance

Voting Members

Dr. James Joy, President

Mr. Daxton Maze, Board Member

Mr. Randy Sparkman, Vice President

Mrs. Sabrina Buettner, Board Member

Ms. Amy Pace, Board Member

Non-Voting Members

Dr. Brian Clayton, Superintendent

I. Call to Order

The Board President, Dr. James Joy, called the meeting to order at 5:59 p.m.

II. Establishment of Quorum

Dr. James Joy declared that a quorum was present. All members are present.

III. Adoption of Agenda

A recommendation was made to approve the agenda.

Motion made by: Mr. Randy Sparkman; Motion seconded by: Ms. Amy Pace Voting: Unanimously Approved

IV. Personnel Items

1. Recommendation to Approve Personnel Items

The Superintendent made the recommendation to approve the following personnel items:

Leaves

- 1. Sarah Derrick for FMLA leave in the position of Speech Language Pathologist at Crestline Elementary School from approximately April 7, 2025, through May 23, 2025.
- 2. Danny Stephenson for FMLA Leave in the position of Custodian, based at the Central Office, currently assigned to Hartselle Junior High School, from April 23, 2025, through July 22, 2025.

Resignations

1. Kellan Drinkard, from the position of Instructional Aide, based at the Central Office, currently assigned to Hartselle Junior High School, effective May 23, 2025.

2. Kevin Howard, from the position of Bus Driver, effective May 22, 2025.

Retirements

- 1. Cynthia Depreast from the position of Elementary Teacher (Kindergarten), effective June 1, 2025.
- 2. Lisa Gault from the position of Physical Therapist, effective June 1, 2025.
- 3. Belinda Logan from the position of CNP Manager at Crestline Elementary School, effective June 1, 2025.
- 4. Suzanne Sharp (Charlotte) from the position of CNP Clerk, effective July 1, 2025.
- 5. Pam Smith from the position of Elementary Teacher (Kindergarten), effective June 1, 2025.
- 6. Tina Towers from the position of Elementary Curriculum Coordinator, effective August 1, 2025.
- 7. Bryant Whitlock from the position of Principal at F.E. Burleson Elementary School, effective July 1, 2025.
- 8. Denise Wigginton from the position of Local School Secretary (12 Months) at Hartselle High School, effective June 1, 2025.

Motion made by: Mr. Daxton Maze; Motion seconded by: Ms. Amy Pace Voting: Unanimously Approved

** Dr. Clayton excused himself from the meeting prior to the Superintendent search discussion.

V. Action Items

1. Recommendation to Approve Finalists

Board attorney, Woody Sanderson, presented the board with the process of how candidates were scored. A total of 16 candidates applied for the position of Superintendent of Hartselle City School. After each board member individually reviewed all applications, they scored candidates with the same rubric. After this rubric was combined, the top three candidates were presented, in alphabetical order by Mr. Sanderson: Dr. Tony Dowdy, Dr. Rachel Poovey, and Dr. Holly Sutherland.

After discussions, Board President, Dr. Joy made the recommendation to approve Superintendent Candidate finalists as presented by Mr. Woody Sanderson.

Motion made by: Ms. Amy Pace

Motion seconded by: Mrs. Sabrina Buettner

Voting:

Dr. James Joy - Yes

Mr. Daxton Maze - No

Mr. Randy Sparkman - Yes

Mrs. Sabrina Buettner - Yes

Ms. Amy Pace – Yes

VI. Information Items

1. Upcoming Board Meetings - May 22, 2025 - Central Office - 7:00 AM

VII. Adjournment

With no further business, Dr. Joy declared the meeting adjourned at 6:25 p.m.