Hartselle City Schools Meeting Minutes

Special Called Meeting 07/23/2021 08:00 AM

Central Office 305 College Street, NE Hartselle, Alabama 35640

Attendees

Voting Members Mr. Randy Sparkman, Chairman Mrs. Venita Jones, Board Member Mr. Daxton Maze, Board Member Mrs. Monty Vest, Board Member

Non-Voting Member
Dr. Dee Dee Jones, Superintendent

I. Call to Order

The Board President, Mr. Randy Sparkman, called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of Quorum

Mr. Sparkman declared that a quorum was present. All members were present except Dr. James Joy.

III. Adoption of Agenda

A recommendation was made to approve the agenda. Mr. Daxton Maze made a motion to approve the agenda with a second by Mrs. Venita Jones. The motion was unanimous in favor of the motion.

IV. Personnel Items

Recommendation to Approve Personnel Items
 The Superintendent made the recommendation to approve the following personnel items:

Leave Requests

- 1. Brooke Tankersley, teacher at Hartselle Intermediate, for FMLA from January 7 March 25, 2022.
- 2. Charleston Parker, teacher at Hartselle Intermediate, for FMLA from December 13, 2021 March 18, 2022.
- 3. Deitra Pressley, custodian assigned to Hartselle Intermediate School, for intermittent FMLA leave from July 19 December 17, 2021.

Resignations

1. Angela Jones, from the position of Custodian, currently assigned to F.E. Burleson Elementary, effective July 17, 2021.

- 2. Nancy Johnson, from the position of bookkeeper at Barkley Bridge Elementary School, effective August 13, 2021.
- 3. John Smyth, from the position of bus driver, effective July 31, 2021.

<u>Transfer</u>

- 1. Krista Blaxton, from the position of elementary teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary, to the position of elementary teacher at Crestline Elementary, effective with the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year.
- 2. Robin McCutcheon from her current position as a 10-month guidance secretary to a 9-month guidance secretary, effective immediately.

Employment

- 1. Amy King, for the position of elementary teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary, effective with the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year.
- 2. Whitney Eddy, for the position of elementary teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary, effective with the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year.
- 3. Allison Waldrep, for the position of elementary teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary, effective with the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year.
- 4. Kristi Long, for the position of elementary teacher at Crestline Elementary. This will be paid with ESSER funds for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 5. Anna-Marie Perrin, for the position of guidance Counselor at Hartselle Junior High School, effective July 26, 2021.

Stipends and Supplements

- The following to receive a stipend of \$125 each for their services during Kindergarten Camp. This will be paid with Crestline funds: Meghan Owens, Amy Cole, Amy Crow, Amy Robinson, Rhonda Russell, and Candice McCaghren.
- 2. Cassandra Garrison, to be paid \$20 per hour for performance and music support for drama productions during the 2021-2022 school year. This will be paid with drama funds.
- 3. Bree Drake to be paid \$125 per day for teaching during Kindergarten Camp at F.E. Burleson Elementary School.

Non-Employee Agreements

- 1. June Barnes part-time Special Education teacher at \$25/hour, not to exceed \$31,000
- 2. Lisa Lang homebound teacher at \$25/hour x 4 hours/week for 36 weeks of school, not to exceed \$3,600/school year.
- 3. Wendy Crow part-time Reading/Language Arts teacher at Hartselle Intermediate School at \$32,000 from August 1, 2021 May 27, 2022.

Substitutes

1. Add the following to the substitute list: Gabrielle Legg, Kathryn Young, Jill Lawley, Ella Hillman, Jada Hayes, and John DeChiaro.

Motion made by: Mrs. Monty Vest; Motion seconded by: Mrs. Venita Jones Voting: Unanimously Approved

V. Information Items

1. Upcoming Board Meetings
The next scheduled meeting will be August 24, 2021, at the Central Office, at 6:00 p.m.

VI. Adjournment

With no further business, Mr. Randy Sparkman declared the meeting adjourned at 8:15 a.m.

Chairperson	